Knicks Go Headlines Eclipse Award Finalists

RacingContent provided by BloodHorse
Knicks Go is likely to be crowned Horse of the Year at the Eclipse Awards. (Eclipse Sportswire)

The National Thoroughbred Racing Association, Daily Racing Form, and the National Turf Writers and Broadcasters announced Jan. 15 the finalists for the 2021 Eclipse Awards, recognizing excellence in Thoroughbred racing.

Winners in 17 horse and human categories will be announced on TVG, and other outlets, during the 51st annual Eclipse Awards Feb. 10 at 8 p.m. ET in dinner and ceremony at Santa Anita Park. The evening will culminate with the announcement of the 2021 Horse of the Year.

Korea Racing Authority's Knicks Go, winner of the Longines Breeders' Cup Classic, is expected to win the award.

Of the 245 eligible voters represented by the NTRA, consisting of member racetrack racing officials and Equibase field personnel, the NTWAB, and Daily Racing Form, 235 (95.9%) took part in the voting. Finalists were determined in each category by voters' top three selections, using a 10-5-1 point basis. Eclipse Award winners are determined solely by first-place votes.

The 2021 Eclipse Awards Finalists, with the exception of Horse of the Year, listed in alphabetical order, are:

2-Year-Old Male: Corniche, Jack ChristopherModern Games

2-Year-Old Filly: Echo Zulu, Juju's Map, Pizza Bianca

3-Year-Old Male: Essential Quality, Life Is Good, Medina Spirit

3-Year-Old Filly: Clairiere, Malathaat, Santa Barbara

Older Dirt Male: Knicks Go, Maxfield, Mystic Guide

Older Dirt Female: Letruska, Marche LorraineShedaresthedevil                

Male Sprinter: Aloha West, Flightline, Jackie's Warrior

Santa Barbara is a finalist in two Eclipse categories. (Eclipse Sportswire)

Female SprinterBella Sofia, Ce Ce, Gamine

Male Turf Horse: Domestic Spending, Space Blues, Yibir

Female Turf Horse: Loves Only You, Santa Barbara, War Like Goddess   

Steeplechase Horse: Baltimore Bucko, Snap DecisionThe Mean Queen

Owner: Godolphin, Juddmonte Farms, Klaravich Stables

Breeder: Calumet Farm, Godolphin, Stonestreet Thoroughbred Holdings

Trainer: Steve Asmussen, Chad Brown, Brad Cox

Jockey: Irad Ortiz Jr., Flavien Prat, Joel Rosario

Apprentice Jockey: John Hiraldo, Charlie Marquez, Jessica Pyfer   

In addition to honoring the 17 winners in the horse and human categories, Justin Mustari will receive the Eclipse Award as the 2021 Horseplayer of the Year. Members of the media will be honored for outstanding coverage in six categories.

Eclipse Awards voting is conducted by the NTWAB, the NTRA, and Daily Racing Form. The Eclipse Awards ceremony is produced by the National Thoroughbred Racing Association.

Eclipse Awards ticket information is available at the NTRA website here.

The Eclipse Awards are sponsored by Roberts Communications, Four Roses Bourbon, Daily Racing Form, Breeders' Cup, FanDuel Group, The Stronach Group, Santa Anita Park, TVG, Dean Dorton, Stonestreet Farm, Keeneland, Racetrack Television Network, Jackson Family Wines, Rood & Riddle Equine Hospital, Hallway Feeds and the Thoroughbred Owners and Breeders Association.

newsletter sign-up

Stay up-to-date with the best from America's Best Racing!

Facebook Twitter Pinterest Instagram TikTok YouTube
Facebook Twitter Pinterest Instagram TikTok YouTube