NBC’s Kentucky Derby Coverage Draws 14.5 Million Total Viewers

Pop Culture
Medina Spirit wins the 147th Kentucky Derby on May 1 at Churchill Downs. (Eclipse Sportswire)

NBC Sports’ presentation of the 147th Kentucky Derby Presented by Woodford Reserve averaged a Total Audience Delivery (TAD) of 14.5 million viewers as the “Run for the Roses” returned to its traditional first Saturday in May date – marking a 54% increase from last year’s event (9.4 million on Sept. 5), according to official national data provided by Nielsen and digital data from Adobe Analytics.

Viewership peaked at 15.7 million viewers from 6:45-7 p.m. ET on NBC as Medina Spirit mounted a wire-to-wire victory and trainer Bob Baffert won the race for a record seventh time.

The TV-only average audience of 14.4 million viewers topped all entertainment awards shows for the first time ever and marked NBC’s most watched broadcast since the NFL Divisional Playoffs in January.

NBC Sports Digital’s presentation of the Kentucky Derby delivered a record Average Minute Audience (AMA) of 139,300 viewers for the event via the NBC Sports app and NBCSports.com.

The NBC-TV household rating for the broadcast (6:31-7:18 p.m. ET) was a 7.1/22

146th Preakness Stakes Set for May 15 on NBC Sports

In two weeks, Kentucky Derby winner Medina Spirit attempts the next step in his Triple Crown quest. NBC Sports’ coverage of The 146th Preakness Stakes from Pimlico Racecourse in Baltimore, Md., begins Friday, May 14 at 5 p.m. ET on NBCSN with coverage of the Black-Eyed Susan Stakes and a Preakness Stakes preview. NBC presents The Preakness Stakes on Saturday, May 15 at 5 p.m. ET, with coverage beginning at 2 p.m. ET on NBCSN.

Top Metered Markets for the 2021 Kentucky Derby (Race Portion):

1.Louisville, 28.7/59

2. Ft. Myers, 18.2/36

3. Knoxville, 16.2/30

4. West Palm Beach, 15.5/35

5. Cincinnati, 15.1/36

6. Cleveland, 14.9/35

7. Detroit, 14.0/32

8. Providence, 13.3/31

T9. Indianapolis, 13.1/32

T9. Buffalo, 13.1/29

newsletter sign-up

Stay up-to-date with the best from America's Best Racing!