all in Legends

Topped by the additions of champions Beholder and Tepin, chosen in their first year of eligibility, eight new members have been elected to the National Museum of Racing and Hall of Fame class of 2022.

In the 1980s and 1990s, Pat Riley and Phil Jackson dominated the National Basketball Association coaching ranks, accounting for 10 championships between them. But during the same time frame another basketball coach was even more dominant than the two NBA legends, he just chose to ply his trade in a different sport.

When Canonero II won the 1971 Kentucky Derby, he generated a rather modest return for a $2 win ticket.

Yet that $19.40 winning ticket on the "Caracas Cannonball" had nothing to do with the Venezuelan shipper’s merits and everything to do with his inclusion in a gargantuan six-horse mutuel field.

Based on his form and a star-crossed trip to the United States, Canonero probably would have been dismissed at 100-1 odds in the 97th Kentucky Derby. Maybe even 200-1, but nothing even remotely close to his 8-1 odds.

When John Servis was growing up in Philadelphia, he experienced a recurring dream. He pictured himself in the winner’s circle at Churchill Downs, having won the Kentucky Derby as a trainer.

The Kentucky Derby Presented by Woodford Reserve is not only the most anticipated, most watched Thoroughbred race in the world but an essential part of American sports culture.

Memories are made with each run for the roses that over the passage of time become legend, not only to day-to-day followers of horse racing but to the general public.

newsletter sign-up

Stay up-to-date with the best from America's Best Racing!