2019 Preakness Stakes by the Numbers

Eclipse Sportswire

This year’s Preakness Stakes won’t feature the Kentucky Derby presented by Woodford Reserve winner but is expected to include 13 horses eager to add the prestige of a Preakness victory to their resumes. The historic race will be run on Saturday at Pimlico in Baltimore, and you can get ready for the race with the stats and facts below.

1 3/16 miles – The distance of the Preakness since 1925. It’s a sixteenth of a mile shorter than the Kentucky Derby.

1 ½ miles – The distance the Preakness was contested at from 1873-1888 and in 1890.

1:53 – Secretariat’s  time in the 1973 race, a record. It was originally timed in 1:54 2/5, but that error was corrected in 2012, giving him the speed record in all three Triple Crown races.

Rachel Alexandra before winning the Preakness
Rachel Alexandra before winning the Preakness (Eclipse Sportswire)

5 – The number of fillies (females) who have won the Preakness, most recently Rachel Alexandra in 2009.

7 – The number of Preakness wins by trainer Bob Baffert: Silver Charm (1997), Real Quiet (1998), Point Given (2001), War Emblem (2002), Lookin At Lucky (2010), American Pharoah (2015), and Justify (2018). He brings expected favorite Improbable this year.

8 – The number of times a horse bred in Maryland has won Maryland’s signature race, most recently Deputed Testamony in 1983. Alwaysmining will attempt to join that list this year.

10 – The number of Preakness winners who were sired (fathered) by a Preakness winner, including 2016 winner Exaggerator, by 2007 winner Curlin.

11 ½ lengths - Smarty Jones’ winning margin in the 2004 Preakness, a record.

13 – The expected number of horses that will compete in the race on Saturday, which would be the most since 2011.

16 – The number of times a horse breaking from post position No. 6 has won the Preakness. Oxbow was the last to do so, in 2013.

18 – The race has been decided by a head or less on 18 occasions, the last such occurrence when Cloud Computing defeated Classic Empire by a head in 2017.

22 – The number of Preakness winners named Horse of the Year, racing’s highest year-end honor, the same year. Triple Crown winner Justify (2018) is the most recent such horse.

36 – Total number of horses who won the Preakness after a Kentucky Derby victory. Just 13 of them went on to win the Belmont Stakes and sweep the Triple Crown.

$48.80 – The biggest win payout ever in the race, coming when 23-1 Master Derby won in 1975.

144 – This year is the 144th running of the race. It was first contested in 1873 but wasn’t run from 1891 through 1893.

1888 – The last time a maiden (horse who had never previously won a race) won the Preakness. It had happened five times in the 15 previous editions. This year Bodexpress will try to join that list.

$2,050 – Purse of the first Preakness in 1873.

4,000 – The number of Viking poms in the Preakness winner’s garland, which measures 18 inches by 90 inches.

134,487 Total number of fans who packed Pimlico for last year’s rainy Preakness.

$180,000 – Fees that the owners of Warrior’s Charge will pay for their horse to run in the Preakness. This includes a $150,000 supplemental fee since he wasn’t Triple Crown nominated earlier this year, plus, like the other entrants, $15,000 to enter and $15,000 to start in the race.

$1.5 million – Total purse for the race. The winner gets 60 percent of that.

$93,655,128 – Dollars bet on Preakness day 2018, the third-highest handle ever for the race.

newsletter sign-up

Stay up-to-date with the best from America's Best Racing!