Inside the Numbers: 2018 Preakness Stakes

Cloud Computing won the Preakness Stakes by a head in 2017. (Eclipse Sportswire)

This Saturday, Justify will attempt to win the Preakness Stakes in pursuit of a Triple Crown. But the storied Pimlico race is much more than a steppingstone to Belmont; it’s a Grade 1 race and an important feather in any horse’s cap.

Read on to learn more about the facts and figures surrounding the historic race.

1 3/16 miles - The distance of the Preakness since 1925. It’s a sixteenth of a mile shorter than the Kentucky Derby Presented by Woodford Reserve.

1 ½ miles - The distance the Preakness was contested at from 1873-1888 and in 1890.

1:53 - Secretariat’s time in the 1973 race, a record. It was originally timed in 1:54 2/5, but that error was corrected in 2012, giving him the speed record in all three Triple Crown races.

5 – The number of fillies (females) who have won the Preakness, most recently Rachel Alexandra in 2009.

Point Given winning 2001 Preakness Stakes. (BloodHorse photo)

6 - The number of Preakness wins by trainer Bob Baffert: Silver Charm (1997), Real Quiet (1998), Point Given (2001), War Emblem (2002), Lookin At Lucky (2010), and American Pharoah (2015). He brings Derby-winning favorite Justify this year.

8 - Preakness wins by owner Calumet Farm, a record. The farm will have Bravazo in this year’s race, and Pony Up is also under consideration.

8 - The number of times a horse bred in Maryland has won Maryland’s signature race, most recently Deputed Testamony in 1983.

10 - The number of Preakness winners who were sired (fathered) by a Preakness winner, including 2016 winner Exaggerator, by 2007 winner Curlin.

11 ½ lengths - Smarty Jones’ winning margin in the 2004 Preakness, a record.

16 - The number of times a horse breaking from post position No. 6 has won the Preakness. Oxbow was the last to do so, in 2013.

18 - The race has been decided by a head or less on 18 occasions, including Cloud Computing’s head victory over Classic Empire last year.

21 - The number of Preakness winners named Horse of the Year, racing’s highest year-end honor, the same year. Triple Crown winner American Pharoah (2015) is the most recent such horse.

35 - Total number of horses who won the Preakness after a Kentucky Derby victory. Just 12 of them went on to win the Belmont Stakes and sweep the Triple Crown.

1873 - The year the Preakness was first run. It wasn’t run from 1891 through 1893, so this year is the 143rd running.

1888- The last time a maiden (horse who had never previously won a race) won the Preakness. It had happened five times in the 15 previous editions.

4,000 – The number of Viking poms in the Preakness winner’s garland, which measures 18 inches by 90 inches.

140,327 - Record attendance at the 2017 Preakness.

$1.5 million - Total purse for the race, with $900,000 of that for the winner.

$97,168,658 - Record amount bet on Preakness day 2017.

newsletter sign-up

Stay up-to-date with the best from America's Best Racing!