2018 Awesome Again Stakes by the Numbers

California Chrome winning the Awesome Again Stakes in 2016. (Eclipse Sportswire)

This Saturday is a blockbuster weekend for Breeders’ Cup prep races, including an action-packed card at Santa Anita Park highlighted by the Awesome Again Stakes. Accelerate, current ranked No. 1 in the NTRA Top Thoroughbred Poll, headlines the race with a place in the $6 million Breeders’ Cup Classic on the line.

Read on for a look at the facts and figures surrounding the race.

1 1/8 miles - The distance of the race since 1987. It was previously contested at 1 1/16 miles from 1982-84 and in 1986.

1:46.72 - The fastest final time the race (at 1 1/8 miles), when Bertrando won the 1994 edition.

Shared Belief after winning the 2014 Awesome Again. (Eclipse Sportswire)

$2.40 - The payout on a $2 win wager when Shared Belief won in 2014. He was the shortest-priced favorite in the race’s history, sent off at odds of 1-5.

3 - The number of horses that won two editions of the race: Lord At War (1984, 1985), Pleasantly Perfect (2002, 2003), and Game On Dude (2011, 2012).

3 - Number of Horse of the Year honorees that won the Awesome Again the same year: California Chrome (2016), Tiznow (2000), and Ferdinand (1987).

4 - The number of times the race has been decided by a head or less. Tiago was the last horse to do so, defeating Awesome Gem by a nose in 2007.

5 - The record number of Awesome Again wins each by Hall of Fame trainers Bob Baffert and Charlie Whittingham.

5 - Gary Stevens’ win total in the race, more than any other jockey. His first came in 1988 aboard Cutlass Reality.

5 ¼ lengths - The record margin of Smooth Roller’s 2015 win, when he defeated Hoppertunity and Bayern.

7 - Number of Breeders’ Cup Classic wins by horses that finished in the top three in the Awesome Again the same year, including Bayern (third in Awesome Again, 2015), Mucho Macho Man (won, 2013), Pleasantly Perfect (won, 2003), Tiznow (won, 2000 and third, 2001), Alphabet Soup (disqualified to third, 1996), and Ferdinand (won, 1987).

37 - This year is the 37th edition of the race, first run in 1982 as the Goodwood Handicap.

39-1 - Freedom Crest’s odds when he won the 2001 edition of the race as the longest-priced winner in the race’s history. Bettors took home $80 on a $2 win bet.

71.4% - Success rate of the betting favorite in the last seven years. The favorite has won five of seven. The Awesome Again favorite has a 44.4% all-time win rate.

16,592 - Total on-track attendance at Santa Anita Park for last year’s Awesome Again Stakes.                  

$300,000 - The purse for this year’s race. The winner gets $180,000 of that total.

$2,312,480 - Accelerate’s total career earnings to date. He’s expected to be the favorite in Saturday’s race.

$10,249,794 - Total dollars bet on last year’s Awesome Again card, which featured six total stakes races.

newsletter sign-up

Stay up-to-date with the best from America's Best Racing!