2018 Arlington Million by the Numbers

Beach Patrol (#10, light blue jockey silks) won the 2017 Arlington Million with Joel Rosario aboard. (Eclipse Sportswire)

Each year turf specialists from around the globe descend on Arlington Park outside of Chicago for Arlington Million day. This year’s race is on Saturday and is expected to attract an international field of 11 horses competing for a hefty purse and a place in the Longines Breeders’ Cup Turf starting gate.

Read on for the scoop on the race by the numbers.

1- The number of times the race has been run in Canada. Woodbine hosted in 1988 due to repairs to Arlington’s facility.

1- The number of times the race was decided by a nose; occurring when John Henry defeated The Bart in 1981.

1 ¼ miles- The distance of the Million since its inception.

1:58.69- The fastest time the race has been completed in, when Awad won in 1995.

2- Record number of wins by a jockey in the race. Six jockeys are tied at two apiece: Cash Asmussen, Gary Stevens, Jerry Bailey, Jose Santos, Laffit Pincay Jr., and Ramon Dominguez.

3- The number of horses trainer Chad Brown pre-entered for this year’s race: Almanaar, Money Multiplier, and Robert Bruce. Brown won the race last year with Beach Patrol and in 2013 with Real Solution.

3- This year is expected to be the third time Ireland-based Deauville has run in the race. He finished third in both 2016 and 2017.

5 lengths- The largest winning margin ever in the race, coming when the mare Estrapade defeated Divulge in 1986. Estrapade is the only mare to win the race.

Arlington’s packed paddock on Million Day. (Eclipse Sportswire)

7- No edition of the Million has had less than seven horses race in it. Seven-horse fields happened on four occasions: 2000, 2007, 2008, and 2014.

9- John Henry’s age when he won the Arlington Million for the second time, in 1984.

12- The number of Million winners who represented countries outside of the U.S., including four from Great Britain and three from France.

22.9%- Win rate for horses breaking from post position No. 7, higher than any other post position. The post has eight wins from 35 starters.

26- The number of Eclipse Awards won by horses who ran in the Million.

36th- This year is the 36th running of the race, which was inaugurated in 1981 but not contested in 1998 or 1999.

40-1- The winning odds in 1988, when Mill Native won the race. A $2 win ticket paid $83.20, a record.

1985- The year a fire destroyed the Arlington Park grandstand just 25 days prior to the Million. The “Miracle Million” still went on as scheduled, with temporary tents used in place of the ruined grandstand.

$1,000,000- The purse of the race every edition since 1981. Last year’s winner got $564,000 of that. 

newsletter sign-up

Stay up-to-date with the best from America's Best Racing!