One-Eyed Horse Patch Among Finalists for Secretariat Vox Populi Award

Patch and Ben's Cat are among the six finalists for the 2017 Vox Populi Award.

Online voting is now open for the eighth annual Secretariat Vox Populi Award.  Created by Secretariat's late owner Penny Chenery, the Vox Populi, or “Voice of the People” Award, recognizes the racehorse whose popularity and racing excellence best resounded with the public and gained recognition for the sport during the past year. 

Fans can vote in the online poll for one of six nominees selected by the Vox Populi Committee this year. Voters also have the option to write in a racehorse of their choice. The poll is open through Dec. 12, and a public presentation to the 2017 Vox Populi winner is scheduled for Jan. 20, 2018, at Santa Anita Park. 

This year’s nominees are:


The talented and enigmatic 4-year-old colt became the top all-time North American earner in 2017 after impressive wins in the inaugural Pegasus World Cup Invitational Stakes and the Dubai World Cup.

Ben’s Cat

The late, four-time Maryland Horse of the Year amassed the devotion of a legion of fans in an eight-year racing career that concluded in 2017.

Gun Runner

The commanding 4-year-old colt’s outstanding achievements this year include $6.9 million in earnings and four consecutive Grade 1 victories culminating with the Breeders' Cup Classic at Del Mar.

Lady Eli

The sensational 5-year-old turf star overcame laminitis to win three of her five 2017 starts and finish out a stellar career.


The one-eyed, 3-year-old Triple Crown contender ran third in the Belmont to garner international fanfare for prevailing over obvious challenges and compete at the sport’s highest level.


The fabulously competitive 4-year-old multiple graded stakes-winning filly retired in August a two-time Eclipse champion and recently sold for a whopping $9.5 million at the Fasig-Tipton November sale.

The list of previous Vox Populi winners reads as a who’s who among the sport’s contemporary superstars: California Chrome (2016 and 2014), American Pharoah (2015), Mucho Macho Man (2013), Paynter (2012), Rapid Redux (2011), and 2010 inaugural winner Zenyatta.


newsletter sign-up

Stay up-to-date with the best from America's Best Racing!