Inside the Numbers: 2017 Awesome Again Stakes

Fans photograph California Chrome before his 2016 Awesome Again win at Santa Anita Park. (Eclipse Sportswire)

The Awesome Again Stakes annually attracts some of the top horses in the country, and for good reason: The Grade 1 race offers a guaranteed place in the $6 million Breeders’ Cup Classic starting gate! This year’s race headlines a great day of racing at Santa Anita Park on Saturday, with five Grade 1 races in all.

Go behind the numbers and learn more about the Awesome Again Stakes below.

1 1/8 miles- The distance of the race since 1987. It was previously contested at 1 1/16 miles from 1982-84 and in 1986.

1:46.72- The fastest time the race has been completed in, when Bertrando won the 1994 edition.

$2.40- The payout when Shared Belief won the 2014 race at odds of .20-1.

3- Three horses won the race two times each: Game On Dude (2011-12), Pleasantly Perfect (2002-3), and Lord At War (1984-5).

3- Number of Horse of the Year honorees that won the Awesome Again the same year: California Chrome (2016), Tiznow (2000), and Ferdinand (1987).

4- The number of Awesome Again wins by trainer Bob Baffert. He could tie Charlie Whittingham’s record of five wins if Cupid is victorious on Saturday.

Cupid (Eclipse Sportswire)

5- Record number of wins by jockey Gary Stevens, dating to his first win in the race in 1988 aboard Cutlass Reality.

5 ¼ lengths- The largest margin of victory ever in the race, when Smooth Roller defeated Hoppertunity and Bayern in the 2015 edition.

7- Number of Breeders’ Cup Classic wins by horses that finished in the top three in the Awesome Again the same year, including Bayern (third in Awesome Again, 2015), Mucho Macho Man (won, 2013), Pleasantly Perfect (won, 2003), Tiznow (won, 2000 and third, 2001), Alphabet Soup (disqualified to third, 1996), and Ferdinand (won, 1987).

8- The number of times the race has been decided by a neck or less, most recently when Shared Belief crossed the finish line a neck ahead of Fed Biz in 2014.

36th- This year is the 36th running of the Awesome Again, which was inaugurated in 1982 as the Goodwood Handicap.

46%- The win percent of the betting favorite in the race since its inception. Favorites have been more successful in recent years, however, winning five of the last six editions.

$80- The payout on a $2 win bet when Freedom Crest won the 2001 edition at odds of 39-1. It was the highest win payout ever in the race.

18,563- Attendance at Santa Anita Park for the 2016 Awesome Again Stakes.

$300,000- The purse of the race, with $180,000 reserved for the winner. The total purse of the inaugural Awesome Again in 1982 was $75,000.

$5,394,488- Combined career earnings of Dortmund, Cupid, and Midnight Storm to date. All three are multiple graded stakes winners and are expected to race in the 2017 Awesome Again.

$12,760,020- Total amount bet at Santa Anita Park on Awesome Again day in 2016.

newsletter sign-up

Stay up-to-date with the best from America's Best Racing!