America's Best Racing Fan Choice Awards Voting is Open

Pop Culture

Voting for the inaugural Fan Choice Awards is open! This is horse racing fans’ chance to have their voice heard by voting for the favorites of 2019: the races, the jockeys, the analysts, the fashion, the food, and so much more. The best part? A vote in the Fan Choice Awards gives fans an automatic entry into a contest where one lucky winner and a guest will earn a VIP trip to the 2020 Breeders' Cup World Championships, including a chance to place a $10,000 win bet on the Classic thanks to Keeneland Select. Voting opened at 9 a.m. ET on Nov. 6 and runs through 4 p.m. ET on Nov. 20.

Find out who the finalists are below. To vote on the 2019 Fan Choice Awards, click here.

Best Jockey:

Javier Castellano

Irad Ortiz Jr.

Jose Ortiz

Flavien Prat

Joel Rosario

Mike Smith

John Velazquez

Best Trainer:

Steve Asmussen

Bob Baffert

Chad Brown

Mark Casse

Shug McGaughey

Bill Mott

Best Racetrack to Watch a Race:

Belmont Park

Churchill Downs

Del Mar Thoroughbred Club

Keeneland Race Course

Saratoga Race Course

Best Racetrack for Bettors:

Belmont Park

Churchill Downs

Del Mar Thoroughbred Club

Keeneland Race Course

Kentucky Downs

Oaklawn Park

Saratoga Race Course


Best Racing Fashion Event:

Blue Grass Stakes – Keeneland

Breeders’ Cup World Championships

Del Mar Opening Day – Del Mar Thoroughbred Club

Kentucky Derby – Churchill Downs

Kentucky Oaks – Churchill Downs

Queen’s Plate Racing Festival - Woodbine

Travers Stakes – Saratoga Race Course

Best Racetrack Food:

Burgoo - Keeneland Race Course

Carved Sandwiches – Santa Anita Park

Clocker’s Corner Egg Sandwich – Santa Anita Park

Corned Beef – Oaklawn Park

Fish Tacos – Del Mar Thoroughbred Club

Hattie’s Chicken – Saratoga Race Course

Roast Beef – Woodbine

Saratoga Potato Chips – Saratoga Race Course

Starting Gate Stone Crab Claws – Gulfstream Park

Best Racetrack Cocktail:

Black-Eyed Susan, Preakness – Pimlico Race Course

Del Margarita – Del Mar Thoroughbred Club

Keeneland Breeze – Keeneland Race Course

Lily, Kentucky Oaks – Churchill Downs

Mint Julep, Kentucky Derby – Churchill Downs

Oaklawn Bloody Mary – Oaklawn Park

Saratoga Lemonade - Saratoga Race Course

Best Racing Radio Show/Podcast:

ABR’s The Winner’s Circle with Bram Weinstein

At the Races with Steve Byk

Down The Stretch with Bill Finley and Dave Johnson

Horse Racing Radio Network with Mike Penna

In the Money Podcast with Peter Fornatale and Jonathon Kinchen

Jason Beem Horse Racing Podcast (Formerly BARN)

The Racing Dudes Blinkers Off

The Ron Flatter Racing Pod

Best Racing Analyst:

Matt Bernier - TVG

Simon Bray - TVG

Caton Bredar - TVG

Donna Brothers - NBC Sports

Britney Eurton – NBC Sports/TVG

Gabby Gaudet - TVG

Scott Hazelton - TVG

Jonathon Kinchen - Fox Sports/NYRA

Joe Kristufek – Churchill Downs

Nick Luck – NBC Sports

Randy Moss – NBC Sports

Jay Privman - DRF

Andy Serling – Fox Sports/NYRA

Maggie Wolfendale - Fox Sports/NYRA

Secretariat “Vox Populi” Award:

Belvoir Bay

Bricks and Mortar

Maximum Security

Midnight Bisou


Omaha Beach

To vote, click here.

newsletter sign-up

Stay up-to-date with the best from America's Best Racing!