Ludacris, Violent Femmes Anchor Strong Del Mar Concert Series Lineup

Pop Culture
Fans enjoy a concert at Del Mar. (Penelope P. Miller/America's Best Racing)

The summer Thoroughbred racing meet at Del Mar is like no other.

Combine world-class horse racing with a sun-splashed, seaside setting, terrific music, great food and fashion-forward beach style, and you’ve got the recipe for an unforgettable summer of racing in Southern California.

The seven-week meet serves as the official kick-off to summer in San Diego with Opening Day on Wednesday, July 19.

Opening Day regularly draws more than 40,000 locals and tourists to Del Mar, with the famous hat contest a yearly highlight.

The excitement really shifts into high gear, however, with a spectacular lineup of free concerts throughout the meet. Del Mar’s Summer Concert Series gives music fans the chance to catch a free concert every Friday and select Saturdays and Sundays throughout the racing season.

This year’s lineup features a diverse array of talent, including longtime hip-hop star Ludacris on Saturday, Aug. 12 and the iconic alternative band Violent Femmes on Friday, July 28.

2017 Del Mar Summer Concert Series Lineup

Friday, July 21

 Tribal Seeds

Friday, July 28

 Violent Femmes

Friday, Aug. 4

 Eagles of Death Metal

Saturday, Aug. 5

 Country Fest starring Billy Currington

Friday, Aug. 11

 Special Guest

Saturday, Aug. 12

 Ludacris

Friday, Aug. 18

 Steel Pulse

Friday, Aug. 25

 Lord Huron

Saturday, Aug. 26

 Slightly Stoopid

Friday, Sept. 1

 The Revivalists

Sunday, Sept. 3

 Steve Aoki

Concerts begin shortly after the last race of the day in the seaside concert area, located at the west end of the grandstand. Concerts are for fans 18 and older and free with the purchase of racetrack admission.

Another highlight of the meeting figures to be the second annual Tacotopia at the Track, when 40 of the top restaurants and food trucks from San Diego, Los Angeles and Tijuana compete for the title of “Best Taco” on Sunday, Sept. 3.

Other notable event to mark on the calendar:

  • Take the kids to watch morning workouts for Donuts Day at Del Mar on Saturday, July 29 and Saturday, Aug. 12.
  • Del Mar’s Food Truck Festival on Saturday, July 29
  • “Country Fest,” featuring Del Mar’s famous Chili Cookoff and a concert headlined by Billy Currington on Saturday, Aug. 5
  • Del Mar’s Supersized Family Fun Day and Webkinz Horse Giveaway Sunday, Aug. 6
  • Del Mar’s Burgers and Brews event on Saturday, Aug. 12
  • $1-million TVG Pacific Classic Stakes on Saturday, Aug.19
  • Del Mar’s BBQ State Championship on Sunday, Aug. 20
  • Del Mar’s Craft Beer and Pizza Festival on Saturday, Aug. 26

newsletter sign-up

Stay up-to-date with the best from America's Best Racing!