Inside the Numbers: Arkansas Derby

Events / Travel

This Saturday marks the 79th running of the Arkansas Derby at Oaklawn Park, a race that has featured winners including Curlin, Afleet Alex and Smarty Jones in recent years. We’ve rounded up all the Arkansas Derby statistics you need to know below, so read on!

1 1/8 miles – The distance of the Arkansas Derby.

1:46 4/5 – The fastest time the race has been run, by filly Althea in 1984.

3 years – The age of the horses competing in the race, like all Triple Crown races and preps.

3 – Number of times jockey Pat Day won the Arkansas Derby, a record.

3 – Arkansas Derby wins by owner Loblolly Stable, the most of any owner.

4 – Number of Arkansas Derby wins for trainer Todd Pletcher, most all-time.

5 – The smallest field to compete in the Arkansas Derby, in 1949.

5 – Number of Kentucky Derby wins by horses that prepped in the Arkansas Derby.

10 ½ lengths – Record margin of victory in the Arkansas Derby, accomplished by eventual Horse of the Year Curlin in 2007.

14 – Times the race has been contested on an off-track (anything other than fast).

16 – Number of times the race has been decided by a neck or less, most recently in 2011 when Archarcharch finished a neck ahead of Nehro.


17 – Record number of horses to compete, in the 1971, 1972 and 1974 Arkansas Derbys. The 1960 Arkansas Derby featured 19 horses but the race was split into two divisions. 

122 lbs. – The weight each horse will carry in Saturday’s race.

72,484 – Record attendance at Oaklawn and on Arkansas Derby day, set in 2006.

$1,000,000 – The purse for the 2015 Arkansas Derby.

$15,133,537 – Record handle on Arkansas Derby day, set in 2000.

newsletter sign-up

Stay up-to-date with the best from America's Best Racing!