Please provide a valid email address.

News Story

Photo courtesy Eclipse Sportswire

Press Release

The Horse Racing Photojournalists of North America present the inaugural Photos of the Year. There are many images that highlight the people, the venues and the events in thoroughbred racing and the Photos of the Year will let the public, the horse industry and photojournalists see the work done by their contemporaries this year. All entered images will be visible to the public during the open voting process.

For entry rules and to view the Call For Entries, please visit http://www.horseracingpjs.com.

After the open voting process, the Top 5 images from each category (Racing Action, Racing Action-Remote, Feature-On Track, Feature-Off Track, Scenic, Details, The Backside and Portrait Personality) will be forwarded to the judging panel for placement.

The judging panel for the inaugural contest is comprised of racing photojournalists Pat McDonogh, Molly Riley and Ben Van Hook.

Points will be awarded based on placing (5pts for 1st place, 4pts for 2nd place and so on). The photographer who earns the most points based on judge’s placements will be named Horse Racing Photojournalist of the Year.

Thanks to sponsorship by OCD Pellets, category winners will be awarded plaques and the Horse Racing Photojournalist of the Year will receive a trophy.

For more information please contact the HRPNA at HORSERACINGPJS@gmail.com.


Sponsors & Partners

  • FoxSports1
  • Autism Speaks
  • NBC Sports
  • Logo 6
  • Saratoga
  • Santa Anita
  • CBS Sports
  • Monmouth
  • Keeneland
  • Gulfstream Park
  • Del Mar
  • Belmont Park
  • Arlington Park
  • OwnerView